Civil Processing Unit

Law Enforcement

Civil Processing Unit

Civil Processing Unit

The Civil Processing Unit is tasked with the responsibility of preparing and serving civil processes received from the Courts of Fulton County, as well as other jurisdictions. In addition to process service, this section executes court orders that include the completion of Evictions, Writs of Possession and the collection of other judgments issued by the courts.

  • Please verify all addresses to ensure that they are located in Fulton County for all civil process matters.
  • No Personal Checks submitted to the Fulton County Sheriff’s Office.
  • Any questions regarding State or Magistrate court cases, please contact the Marshal’s Office at (404) 612-4451.
  • Only Superior Court papers are processed by the Fulton County Sheriff’s Office.

FAQ and more

Additional Information

Sheriff's Fee Schedule

The Sheriff’s Fee Schedule is defined and controlled by state legislature (O.C.G.A 15-16-21). The fees set forth are known to be accurate at the time of publishing. All amounts reflected are United States dollars.

Subpoenas

Superior Court $10.00

Juvenile Court (Free Service)

*Subpoenas filed within the State of Georgia is $10.00

*Subpoenas filed outside of the State of Georgia is $11.00

Civil Process--Fulton and 2nd Originals (from other counties and states)

Superior Court $50.00

Foreign $53.00

Summons/Complaints

Summons $50.00 (Foreign) $53.00

Complaints $50.00 (Foreign) $53.00

What is the Dispossessory process?

The Dispossessory process begins with the Court of origin (typically the State or Magistrate Court). Following notice being served to the tenant a 7 day period must pass for the tenant to answer the proceeding. Should no answer be filed the Landlord may then request the court to issue a writ of possession for the property. Following issuance of the writ, the Landlord may then take control of the property. Should assistance of the Sheriff be necessary to keep the peace during the removal of the defendant, the Landlord may secure such service by the payment of 25.00 per defendant. Evictions are scheduled on a first come first serve basis for individual Landlords. Companies also provide eviction services by providing the labor and other services to their clients.

How many times will the Sheriff try to serve my process?

Four attempts will be completed, typically two during the day time and two at night.

Why do I have to pay another fee following the fees I paid to the court for my eviction?

This fee is for the Deputy Sheriff to be present and keep the peace during the removal of the defendant from the property. Some tenants vacate the property when requested and assistance of the Sheriff is not necessary.

When I send process for service what should I include?

The process to serve, no additional copies will be needed. An entry of service if within the state of Georgia. An affidavit of service if outside the state or the proper form provided by the court. A return envelope with your address clearly printed.

What is your address to get my legal papers to you as soon as possible?

When mailing process to the Sheriff’s Office for service from other jurisdictions please use the following address:

 

Fulton County Sheriff’s Office

Attention Civil Section

185 Central Avenue 

9th Floor

Atlanta, GA 30303