# COMMISSION ON ELDERLY AFFAIRS

Board Established by: County

### Description:

At a Recess Meeting, July 15, 1992, the Board of Commissioner established the Advisory Council on Aging, On January 14, 1993, at the initial meeting of this body, the name was changed to the Commission on Elderly Affairs. At a Special Called Meeting on October 26, 1988 the Board of Commissioners created the Aging Services Council. The function of the board was to make recommendations to improve the quality of life for senior citizens in Fulton County.

## Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Commission on Elderly Affairs consists of the following amendments to the previous Board of Commissioners items 8A, adopted on October 26, 1988 and 92-RC-268, adopted on July 15, 1992 by adding the following requirements: Of the seven (7) members who are appointees of the Board of Commissioners, the terms of such members shall end at the end of the term of the appointing District Commissioner. Such members may continue to serve beyond his/her term until a successor is appointed.

In addition to the seven (7) Commission appointees (one for each District), there shall be three (3) appointees from each of the non-profit umbrella agencies, which the County contracts with for aging services; and three (3) senior citizens elected by seniors in the three geographical areas of the County.

## Term:

Members' terms shall end at the end of the term of the appointing District Commissioner. Such members may continue to serve beyond his/her term until a successor is appointed.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

## Meetings: Monthly

Contact(s): Kenn Vanhoose, Office of Aging Human Service Department 137 Peachtree Street, SW Atlanta, Georgia 30303 404-613-8994 404-612-1211 (Fax) kenn.vannhoose@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Mr. Charles K Cobb	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2018
2	Birdie England	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2020
3	Mr. Harvey Levitt	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2020
4	Ms. Anne McSweeney	District 7 Nominated By: Chairman John H. Eaves	12/31/2018

5 Teri Walker	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2022