COMMISSION ON DISABILITY AFFAIRS

Board Established by: County

Description:

This Commission was established by a Resolution of the Board of Commissioners on April 15, 1992 (Item #92-RC-148), to replace the Blue Ribbon Citizens' Panel on Disability Affairs, which expired on April 15, 1992 and amended by Resolution, April 21, 1993 (Item #93-RM-181). This Commission will identify and review factors in Fulton County that most directly affect the quality of life for persons with disabilities and make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners.

Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Commission on Disability Affairs consists of the following amendments to the Resolution of the Board of Commissioners governing the apptointment process and terms of the Commission on Disability Affairs, Item 93-RM-181, adopted April 21, 1993: The Commission on Disability Affairs shall consist of a total of sixteen (16) members to serve staggered two (2) year terms and appointed as follows:

Each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint two (2) members, one of said appointees shall have an initial term, of one (1) year; No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Commission for Disability Affairs; The Commission on Disability Affairs shall appoint two (2) members, who receive the consent of the majority of the members of the Commission on Disability Affairs and one (1) of the appointees shall have an initial term of one (1) year. The Commission on Disability Affairs appointees shall be made for the purpose of maintaining diversity.

Term

After the intial terms, terms shall be two (2) years, staggered. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Commission for Disability Affairs.

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$50/meeting

Meetings: Every third Wednesday of the month at 6:00 p.m., Commission Conference Room, 10th floor

Fulton County Government Center.

Contact(s): Nadine Oka, ADA Administrator

Office of Diversity and Civil Rights Compliance

141 Pryor Street, 5th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303

404-612-7305 / Fax: 404-730-7963 nadine.oka@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Mr. Irvin Cox	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2018
2	Ms. Yvette M. Pollard	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2020
3	Dr. Rometta Powell	District 3-a Nominated By: Commissioner Robb Pitts	7/31/2014

4	Ms. Vernitia Shannon	District 6-a Nominated By: Commissioner Joe Carn	12/31/2020
5	Mr. Robert Smith	District 5-a Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2021
6	Sheneice S Willis	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Joe Carn	12/31/2020